Who We Are

Hawaii Technology Development Corporation

HTDC is a dynamic state agency responsible for diversifying Hawaii's economy developing a flourishing technology industry that provides quality, high-paying jobs for Hawaii residents Займ онлайн на карту. . HTDC aims to accelerate the growth of Hawaii's technology industry by providing capital, building infrastructure and developing talent to foster innovation. HTDC is attached to the Department of Business, Economic Development and Tourism (DBEDT).

Overview

Created in 1983, the Hawaii Technology Development Corporation, is the state’s economic development agency focused on developing the technology sector.  Since its inception, technology has evolved and permeates facets of all industries.  HTDC continues to innovate and create programs relevant to meet the changing technology industry.  In addition to providing incubation facilities to foster the growth of technology startups, HTDC has grant programs, educational and networking programs, statewide mentoring and technology workforce development.

Core Initiatives

  • incubation services and developing new facilities to foster innovation
  • business development services and manufacturing assistance to all islands
  • workshops and networking for start-ups, and small businesses in the technology and manufacturing sectors
  • matching grants in support of technology research and organizations that support the tech ecosystem
  • interfacing with technology employers and trainers to develop a skilled workforce to support the technology sector
  • Research in energy technology such as hydrogen, to support the national and state needs

80 | 80 Initiative

The 80/80 Initiative is a goal for Hawaii to create 80,000 new tech and innovation jobs earning more than $80,000 a year by 2030. Technology jobs provide higher wages and creative opportunities where the brightest will choose to stay for live, work, play. HTDC programs facilitate the growth of companies and move Hawaii closer to the 80/80 goal.

HTDC Program Overview

HSBIR                         50% UP TO $500K

Matching grants for companies with federal Small Business Innovation Research awards.

MAP                            20% up to $100K

Matching grants for manufacturers to upgrade equipment, train employees, energy efficiency projects, and manufacturing feasibility studies.

NI3                              FREE ASSISTANCE

On-site mentorship for innovative companies on Kauai, and Hawaii Island.

TechHire Hawaii

Works with companies to engage in workforce development to accelerate new technology hires.

 

Our Team

Craig Nakanishi

Chair
Partner
Cades Schutte LLP

Vassilis Syrmos

Vice President
Research and Innovation, University of Hawaii System

Edward Barnabas

Principal / Director
Booz Allen Hamilton

Sandra Fujiyama

Vice Chair
Executive Director
Pacific Asian Center for Entrepreneurship

Matthew Sullivan

Director of Product
Oceanit

Gregory R. Kim

Founder
Vantage Counsel LLC

Vincent Kimura

Director of Program & Partnerships
The Office of Innovation and Commercialization, University of Hawaii

James Kunane Tokioka

Director
Department of Business, Economic Development and Tourism (DBEDT)

Rick Volner Jr.

Vice President, Maui Operations & Environmental, Health & Safety (EHS)
HC&D, LLC

Wayne Inouye

Acting Executive Director
(808) 539-3652
winouye@htdc.org

Cassidy Wong

HTDC Special Assistant
(808) 539-3841
cassidy@htdc.org

Sandi Kanemori

Contracts Manager
(808) 539-3616
sandi@htdc.org

Umma Berkelman

Economic Development Specialist
(808) 539-3839
umma@htdc.org

Karlton Tomomitsu

Economic Development Specialist
(808) 539-3794
ktomomitsu@htdc.org

Dave Molinaro

Acting Manager, HCATT / Project Manager, HCATT
(808) 587-1401
dave@htdc.org

Kristy Carpio

Contracts Administrator
(808) 539-3610
kristyc@htdc.org

Wayne Inouye

Center Director, Innovate Hawaii
(808) 539-3652
winouye@htdc.org

Wayne Layugan

Senior Project Manager, Innovate Hawaii
(808) 539-3702
wlayugan@htdc.org

Cindy Matsuki

SBIR Program Manager
(808) 539-3621
cindy@htdc.org

Wendy Oshiro

MEP Project Engineer
(808) 539-3623
wendy@htdc.org

Alice Minor

Program Assistant
(808) 539-3814
alice@htdc.org

Ray Gomez

CFO
(808) 539-3844
ray@htdc.org

Stephanie Yuu-Sato

Fiscal and Contracts Specialist
(808) 539-3639
stephanie@htdc.org

Annual Reports

Collateral

Board Agendas & Minutes

PDF Icon

CALL US

(808) 539-3806

EMAIL US

info@htdc.org