Who We Are

Hawaii Technology Development Corporation

HTDC is a dynamic state agency responsible for diversifying Hawaii's economy developing a flourishing technology industry that provides quality, high-paying jobs for Hawaii residents. HTDC aims to accelerate the growth of Hawaii's technology industry by providing capital, building infrastructure and developing talent to foster innovation. HTDC is attached to the Department of Business, Economic Development and Tourism (DBEDT).

Overview

Created in 1983 the Hawaii Technology Development Corporation, is the state’s economic development agency focused on developing the technology sector.  Since its inception technology has evolved and permeates facets of all industries.  HTDC continues to innovate and create programs relevant to meet the changing technology industry.  In addition to providing incubation facilities to foster the growth of technology startups, HTDC has grant programs, educational and networking programs, statewide mentoring and technology workforce development.

Core Initiatives

  • incubation services and developing new facilities to foster innovation
  • business development services and manufacturing assistance to all islands
  • workshops and networking for start-ups, and small businesses in the technology and manufacturing sectors
  • matching grants in support of technology research and organizations that support the tech ecosystem
  • interfacing with technology employers and trainers to develop a skilled workforce to support the technology sector
  • Research in energy technology such as hydrogen, to support the national and state needs

80 | 80 Initiative

The 80/80 Initiative is a goal for Hawaii to create 80,000 new tech and innovation jobs earning more than $80,000 a year by 2030. Technology jobs provide higher wages and creative opportunities where the brightest will choose to stay for live, work, play. HTDC programs facilitate the growth of companies and move Hawaii closer to the 80/80 goal.

HTDC Program Overview

HSBIR                         50% UP TO $500K

Matching grants for companies with federal Small Business Innovation Research awards.

MAP                            20% up to $100K

Matching grants for manufacturers to upgrade equipment, train employees, energy efficiency projects, and manufacturing feasibility studies.

NI3                              FREE ASSISTANCE

On-site mentorship for innovative companies on Kauai, and Hawaii Island.

TechHire Hawaii

Works with companies to engage in workforce development to accelerate new technology hires.

 

Our Team

Derek Lau, Chair

President & Principal Broker
Real Estate Specialists

Elijah Yip, Vice Chair

Partner
Cades Schutte LLP

Frederick D. Delse, Secretary & Treasurer

President
Team Praxis

Kelly King

Vice President
Pacific Biodiesel Technologies, LLC

Wesley K. Machida, Ex-Officio

Director
Department of Budget & Finance

Luis P. Salaveria, Ex-Officio

Director
Department of Business, Economic Development & Tourism

Craig Nakanishi, Representative for HSDC

Partner
Cades Schutte LLP

Linda Rosehill, Representative for NELHA

President
Rosehill & Associates

John Morton, Ph.D, Representative for UH

Vice President
University of Hawaii System

Race Randle

Senior Vice President, Development
The Howard Hughes Corporation

Robbie Melton

Executive Director & CEO
(808) 539-3601
robbie@htdc.org

Len Higashi

New Program Development Manager
(808) 539-3814
len@htdc.org

Cindy Matsuki

Tech Talent Catalyst
(808) 539-3839
cindy@htdc.org

Sandi Kanemori

Contracts & Grants Manager
(808) 539-3616
sandi@htdc.org

Sandy Park

HSBIR Manager
(808) 539-3794
sandyp@htdc.org

Lauren Hodde

Special Projects Coordinator
(808) 539-3841
laurenh@htdc.org

Stan Osserman

Director, HCATT
(808) 594-0100
stan@htdc.org

Rachel James

Project Manager, HCATT
(808) 594-0100
rachel@htdc.org

Dave Molinaro

Project Manager, HCATT
(808) 594-0100
dave@htdc.org

Kristy Carpio

Contracts Administrator, HCATT
(808) 594-0100
kristyc@htdc.org

Christine Tanuvasa

Secretary, HCATT
(808) 594-0100
christine@htdc.org

Wayne Inouye

Center Director, Innovate Hawaii
(808) 539-3652
winouye@htdc.org

Wayne Layugan

Senior Project Manager, Innovate Hawaii
(808) 539-3702
wlayugan@htdc.org

Erin Furuichi

Progam Coordinator, Innovate Hawaii
(808) 539-3621
erin@htdc.org

Ray Gomez

Controller
(808) 539-3844
ray@htdc.org

Stephanie Yuu-Sato

Accounts Payable
(808) 539-3639
stephanie@htdc.org

Kevin Chak

IT & Tech Support Specialist
(808) 539-3610
kevin@htdc.org

Yvonne Harue

Executive Assistant & Board Secretary
(808) 539-3615
yvonne@htdc.org

CALL US

(808) 539-3806

EMAIL US

info@htdc.org